I really need to write something on my blog.

I am very aware that I haven’t written anything on my blog for some time and people have even started saying “you haven’t written anything on your blog for some time” which tells me that it is time to write something on my blog. So, despite it being quite late I have come upstairs where it is quiet with the intention of writing. I have a cup of tea which I thought would help the thinking process but so far all I’ve done (apart from this bit obviously) is drink my tea and get a bit stressed that it has nearly gone now and it hasn’t helped the thinking process too much at all as my page is still not full of cheery recalls of recent adventures. I also have one eye on the time as I know that the later it gets the less inclined I will be to get up at a respectable hour and go for my morning run. This also is not helping the thinking process. My thoughts are consumed with clock watching and tea watching and I had so much I wanted to write.

I wanted to tell you all about the endless joys of Milton Keynes. Some of you may be aware of the beauty and fun that is to be found there. Others of you, like me, may have failed to find any sign of it despite wandering around for hours. Literally hours. It seemed like days, but it was just literally hours. For you see on arriving in MK I found myself in the enviable position of having complete freedom to explore for a few hours until I was due to meet with friends. What happy hours they were, traipsing around, pulling my little luggage trolley as I found grey business park after grey business park, interspersed with grey car park after grey car park all joined up for us lucky pedestrians with a never ending series of grey underpasses and grey pathways. I am being quite unfairly harsh on MK of course, as I am neglecting to tell you of the highlight of my exploration, finding an Argos! Yes, that was indeed my highlight. Having been on a steady diet of grey office blocks and grey car parks for a couple of hours the discovery of an Argos made me very excited indeed. I eagerly went in and browsed the clearance catalogues and then treated myself to a meander around the shop itself browsing the display cabinets. It was only a matter of time though before the realisation dawned on me that I may be looking a little odd having been in there for such a long time and that it may be time to leave. So sadly I returned to the maze of grey underpasses and continued circling familiar grey ground until it was time to meet my friends.

I wanted to tell you about the loveliness of the Pearl Jam concert, but I think people may have heard enough about that and may not be able to endure anymore Eddie inspired rantings. So I shall just say it was very good indeed and Eddie was obviously as fabulous as expected.

I also wanted to tell you about the pleasures to be found wandering around Heaton Park in Manchester on a cold, blustery day with occasional showers while in the company of Sam and Henry. This won’t take much time as I don’t think there were any pleasures. There were lots of torments though. Henry became fixated on the little land train that we saw as we arrived and continued to ask “can we go on the train?” every few seconds (literally) until he was told that if he asked one more time then we would NOT be going on the train!!! At which point the train would rather predictably come chugging around the corner firing up Henry’s enthusiasm once more and a whole new series of “can we go on the train?” questions would start up again until he was told that if he asked one more time then we would NOT be going on the train!!! At which point the train would rather predictably come chugging around the corner firing up Henry’s enthusiasm once more and a whole new series of “can we go on the train?” questions would start up again until he was told that if he asked one more time then we would NOT be going on the train!!! At which point….oh, what’s that you say? This is getting very repetitive? Yes it is rather isn’t it? Well, that’s life with Henry I’m afraid. Welcome to my world.

I also wanted to tell you about the fun to be had wandering around Llandudno. Well, I say wandering, but more accurately it could be described as an alternating sprint and a very slow plod. You see Llandudno is a magnet for those of a rather ancient age and we frequently found ourselves stuck behind a posse of very slow moving folk, usually assisted by various sticks, frames and motorised contraptions (which despite having a motor seemed unable to move any faster than a slow plod). Sam and Henry would be constantly on the lookout for an opening in the group through which they could suddenly dart, and then the race was on trying to keep up with them as they sprinted ahead in search of the pier, selectively deaf to our calls to slow down and wait. Quite soon though their progress would be hampered once more as they encountered another posse of those of a rather ancient age and we were able to catch up, until they found another opening and shot off again.

I wanted so much to tell you about how lovely Llandudno is, if a little prompt to close. It would appear that the residents like to settle in early as by the time we had finished our adventures and explorations and were ready for a much needed, restorative ice cream/cup of tea/pint of vodka, which was at about 4pm, everywhere was closing. Just as we reached the end of the pier in our seemingly fruitless quest for refreshment we succeeded in sneaking through the closing doors of a cafe, thus evading being denied entry, and we successfully secured ourselves the last drinks that were to be served, if begrudgingly, that day. As the surfaces around us were wiped with a ‘we are actually closing you know’ type attitude, we chose to ignore the slight frostiness in the air and ordered our drinks anyway and chose to sit outside with them before we could be evicted from the premises. We decided that as a final treat before heading home we would see what seasidey type confection we could find. We set off excitedly, imagining the plethora of doughnuts, candy floss, toffee apples and popcorn that we would soon have the difficult decision to choose between. Luckily we were saved any such dilemmas as everything was shut. Everything. Despite the fact that it was still relatively early and there were lots of people around and that the sun was shining and lots of people were having all sorts of beach related fun, every one of the kiosks and shops were shut. Even the corner shop newsagents that had a window display full of sweets was shut. It would appear that if you want a sugar rush after 5pm in Llandudno then you are out of luck. If however you want to be entertained by ‘a good old 40s style knees up singalong around the piano’ then you most definitely are in luck. Just pop along to the Empire Hotel as that seemed to be quite the draw. Not for us though. That was our cue to head for home.

You see, there was so much I wanted to tell you but I just don’t have the time and……oh, good lord, it’s 1.20am! My tea has long grown cold and I’m destined to be tired and reluctant on my morning run. Oh dear. But at least I have written something on my blog. That should keep them quiet for a while, those people that have started saying “you haven’t written anything on your blog for sometime”. Now I have. I’ve written something on my blog.

5 thoughts on “I really need to write something on my blog.

  1. Another interesting chapter in the life of M.H. ..Quite like the book I am reading “The road to McCarthy ” about an irish guy who is travelling to different countries to trace irish ancestors .So witty but so true ..

    Like

Leave a Reply

