How not to play ‘I Spy’.

This is a transcript of part of our game of ‘I Spy’ played on a long car journey yesterday afternoon.
(This was near the end of the game. It had been continuing in a similar pattern for some while before, but I won’t inflict the whole game on you.)

Sam – I spy with my little eye something beginning with r.
M – Road?
Henry – Banana? Car? Football?
D – Rocks?
Henry – Poo poo man!
Sam – No, not r, it starts with w.
M – Oh, ok, wheels?
Henry – Caca man!
D – Wire?
M – (whispering and pointing) Henry, what’s that out the window, going round?
Henry – Poo poo! Caca! Windmill!
Sam – Yes! You got it! Well done Henry. Your turn.
Henry – I spy eye caca man!
Sam – No Henry, you’re supposed to say a sound.
Henry – Wee wee man!
Sam – Henry! Say a sound.
Henry – Poo poo man!
Sam – Henry!
M – Ok, I’ll have a turn. I spy with my little eye something beginning with l.
Henry – Poo poo man!
Sam – Leaves?
Henry – Wee wee man!
D – Line?
Henry – Apple? Underpants? Poo poo?
Sam – Lake?
Henry – Caca man!
Sam – Lady?
Henry – (anxiously) Mummy I feel hot.
M – Would you like some water?

At that point the game came to a sudden stop as Henry proceeded to be repeatedly sick in copious amounts all over himself, his car seat, my leg and the car.
What fun!

Leave a Reply

